The Knitted Frau

Adventures in knitting, and other things too.

Hello, Internet!

Leave a comment

Hey folks! So, I’ve been knitting up a storm lately.  Thus far, I’ve kept my knitting in the comfort of my own living room. Lately people have been bugging me to open an etsy shop or at least go public with my knitting, so here I am.

After much deliberation, I’ve decided to take my adventures in knitting on the road to the wide-open spaces of the internet. I always end up knitting for other people, so I’m not going to open up a shop just yet (although I would be willing to knit a custom hat for you if you’d like!). I figure sharing my projects is a good start.

I’ve just finished up knitting a slew of Christmas presents for my family and am moving on to some simple kids hats for the kids I work with. I am in charge of a Boys & Girls Club before and after school program with about 8 kids in it, and have been trying to think of something nice to do for them for the holiday. I knit in the mornings and afternoons with them when there is only one or two kids left, and  therefore have shown them a good number of projects I’ve done. A few of the kids were so interested in knitting that I went out and bought some cheap aluminum needles and got my hands on some bright acrylic yarn and have been teaching them to knit themselves. It’s been a rewarding (though sometimes frustrating) experience. We’ve recently begun (most of the kids are only a few rows in), and I’ll keep you updated on how the kids projects come along.  Now that I am done with family Christmas presents and have so much time during school hours while I am not working, hopefully I can whip up some nice little hats for my little ones before Christmas break. I’ll post pictures as I go along.

In any case, I hope you stick around! I’ll be posting about my favorite few projects I’ve done for Christmas in the very near future.

Vayos con Dios!

Author: Jessie Colleen

I am a gal in my mid-twenties living and knitting in upstate New York.

Leave a Reply

