The Knitted Frau

Adventures in knitting, and other things too.

A lazy Sunday, done right!

4 Comments

I know, I know. It’s been a while. But I’ve just had the most productive  lazy day I can imagine and it has been WONDERFUL.

This is the first day in a LONG time that I’ve had nothing to do and I took full advantage. For starters, I slept in til 10 after having dreams about being Jerry Garcia’s girlfriend and being in a weird German desert version of Conair. Hmmm. Then I got up and made bread dough which resulted  in this a few hours  later:

image

I used King Arthur Flour’s 100% whole wheat bread recipe, modified a bit to make round loaves and I threw in a few chopped garlic cloves, sweet Spanish onions, and chopped spinach. My mom always tries to stick spinach in anything she can to get as much as possible in the family’s diet, and I do believe I inherited  that cooking trait. It has served me well! The bread was wonderful with my boyfriends mothers homemade sauce for dinner, and will be glorious with the roasted chicken I have planned for tomorrow!

While patiently waiting for the dough to rise and sitting firmly on my butt, I finished this roving wool ear warmer (these are so wonderful for winter walks!):

image

Put the final touches on this wool fair isle hat for my sister:

image

And started this manly alpaca hat:

image

Not too shabby! I even got laundry done with some help from Callie:

image

Three cheers for productive lazy Sundays! And now I need to keep knitting while waiting for Downton Abbey to come on.

Life is hard. Very, very hard.

Author: Jessie Colleen

I am a gal in my mid-twenties living and knitting in upstate New York.

4 thoughts on “A lazy Sunday, done right!

  1. I like the colors of that manly alpaca cap!

  2. Love the ear warmer… Classy! Love you, miss you!

Leave a Reply

