The Knitted Frau

Adventures in knitting, and other things too.

Hey! I’m Still Kicking!

Leave a comment

Hello everybody! It’s been a while… a LONG while. Sorry… I’m not sorry.

In truth, I haven’t posted lately because it’s summer time. It’s hot and sunny and beautiful. Who wants to knit?!

Not me.

But, at the prompting of my friend Aimee over at www.notoriousanc.blogspot.comI am taking her advice and updating my blog.

I have been doing quite a few craftsy things lately. I am going the DIY route for my upcoming wedding, which has me YIPEing a little bit. I made my invitations, but still need to make the RSVPs (sorry friends and family… they will be in the mail soon!). They are coming out very nicely, though. For under $100 and with many A.C. Moore coupons, I got cardstock, envelopes, custom stamps from www.simonstamps.com (they are awesome and FAST! order from them!), and stamp pads to make most of the parts of the invitations. The hubby is insisting on hand-writing the RSVP cards, so those are slowing us down. The final product will be really pretty and personal and completely us, however. Hopefully it is worth it.

The hand-made invitations were just the warm-up for the party favors, though. They are going to be a huge project. We are painting each guests name on a mason jar mug with dishwasher-safe glass paints. Their mug will be the place card, beer/soda mug and party favor. Triple whammy!

It sounds great, right? RIGHT?!

Whats not so great (which I realized while packing my car with case after case of mugs) is the prospect of painting & baking 225 mugs. This is what 225 mugs looks like:

IMG_2929

Well, 224 now. I had to make a tester mug, which coincided nicely with my future brother-in-laws birthday. It turned out pretty sweet:

IMG_2926

The wedding mugs will absolutely involve simple stamping to decorate around the names, so they will be a lot less time-consuming and not as intricate. The colors will be similar, however. I have a feeling I might have to use some of the extras for sweet patterned mugs, though.

Luckily, I have some very wonderful women helping me with other projects and offering cool party decorations they have lying around from previous parties. It’s a team DIY effort, and I am really excited for the day to get here so we can all drink beer, eat food and celebrate each other!

Any how, I suggest thinking twice before ordering & paying for hundreds of mugs that you have lofty dreams of painting. Luckily, I thought enough ahead to get them now instead of in September. Wish me luck!!

Author: Jessie Colleen

I am a gal in my mid-twenties living and knitting in upstate New York.

Leave a Reply

